IIM Bangalore EPGP Placements: What the 2024-25 Official Data and 2025-26 Reports Say About Your ROI
Every cycle, two lines from a placement report get quoted across forums as if they were the whole story: "the IIMB EPGP median is 33 lakh" or "the average is 37 lakh". Both numbers exist. Neither tells you what you need before you commit a year of your career and a large programme fee. This post separates what IIM Bangalore publishes itself from what is only reported secondhand, then shows how to read the recruiter and sector mix if you are deciding whether EPGP fits your target post-MBA role.
If you are still deciding whether to apply at all, our complete IIM Bangalore EPGP application guide covers dates, fees, the WAT and the interview. This piece is about the other end of the funnel: what comes out.
What is official, and what is only reported
The cleanest data we can point to is IIMB's own 2024-25 EPGP placement page: a median of Rs 33.1 lakh and a mean of Rs 35.5 lakh per annum. It lists 30 recruiting companies and an industry split, but it does not state the batch size, the total number of offers or the highest CTC, and it does not define what CTC includes. That last gap matters. A figure that counts joining bonuses, variable pay and relocation reads very differently from fixed pay alone.
For 2025-26 the evidence is thinner. InsideIIM reported on 28 September 2026 an average of Rs 37.10 lakh and a median of Rs 36.50 lakh, for a batch of 73 students with 61 offers accepted, 3 students opting out and 4 on sabbatical, across 22 recruiters. We could not find a matching 2025-26 report on IIMB's own site at the time of writing, so treat these as reported figures and confirm them with the school before using them in a decision.
Metric | 2024-25 (IIMB page) | 2025-26 (InsideIIM report) |
Median pay (Rs lakh per annum) | 33.1 | 36.5 |
Mean pay (Rs lakh per annum) | 35.5 | 37.1 |
Recruiters | 30 listed | 22 |
Batch size | Not stated | 73 |
Offers accepted | Not stated | 61 |
Consulting share | 44% | 50% |
IT technology and products share | 31% | 24% |
Read the comparison with one caution. The median moved up by roughly Rs 3.4 lakh, which looks like momentum, but the two columns come from different sources and different recruiter counts. In a cohort of around 70, a shift in the median is as much a story about which handful of firms made offers as about the wider market. Look at the trend over three or four years before you call it a trend.
The sector mix: consulting does the heavy lifting
In the 2024-25 data, consulting accounted for 44% of placements and IT technology and products for 31%. Computers, electronics and manufacturing took 7%, automobile and infrastructure 4% each, aviation, aerospace and PSU 3%, and a handful of sectors 1% each. The listed percentages add up to 97%, so do not treat the split as exhaustive.
The reported 2025-26 split tilts further toward consulting at 50%, with IT technology and products at 24% and finance, banking and investments at 10%. Automobile, computers and electronics, healthcare and IT software, analytics and product management sit at 3% each, with e-commerce, payments, telecom and education at 2% each.
The word "consulting" is doing a lot of work here. In 2024-25, the biggest recruiters by offers were Accenture Strategy and Consulting and EY with 7 each, Samsung with 5, and then Accenture Technology Consulting and others with 3 to 4 each. The reported 2025-26 list names McKinsey, Alvarez & Marsal, EY-Parthenon and Accordion on the consulting side, and Accenture, Flipkart, Infosys, Persistent and Samsung on the technology and product side. A seat at a technology consulting arm and a seat at a strategy house are different jobs with different pay curves, even when both are filed under the same label.
We looked at the same question for another programme in what the official IIM Calcutta MBAEx data shows and what it hides, and the pattern repeats: the headline number is accurate, the detail underneath decides whether it applies to you.
Three ways applicants misread these numbers
Treating the median as your offer
The median is the middle of a batch that mixes people who came in at very different salary levels and with very different functions. If you are targeting product, general management or a non-consulting function, your realistic range is the one for that function, not the batch median. Ask the programme office for function-wise splits, because the public pages do not give them.
Reading consulting share as a promise of a consulting offer
A 44% to 50% consulting share means consulting is the most common outcome, not an available one for every admit. Consulting recruiters screen on prior experience, structured thinking and case performance. If that is your goal, build case skills early and read how AI is reshaping post-MBA roles so you understand which consulting work is growing and which is being automated.
Ignoring the small base
With about 73 students and 22 to 30 recruiters, one or two large recruiters moving their hiring up or down changes the picture. Compare years by recruiter list and offer counts, not by the headline median alone. If you want a larger-sample reference point, our review of five years of audited IIM Ahmedabad PGPX placement data shows how much a multi-year view smooths out.
How to run your own ROI math
Start with the full programme cost as published by IIMB for your intake, then add the salary you will forgo during the year. Subtract that from a post-MBA figure you can defend for your own target function, not the batch median. The number that matters is how many years of the post-MBA premium it takes to repay the year you gave up, and that calculation changes completely if your target role sits outside consulting.
A few habits make the maths more honest. Use fixed pay where you can separate it from variable pay. Run a low case at about 80% of the median, since half the batch earns below it. Account for the 3 opt-outs and 4 sabbaticals in the reported 2025-26 batch as a reminder that not every admit follows the same path.
If you want a structured way to prepare for the placement side of the year, Launchpad's free Placement Prep Academy at launchpad.careersimplified.co.in/mba-prep has an opening module for each track, including consulting and product management.
What to do with this before you apply
Placement data should shape your shortlist, not decide it alone. Check whether your target function actually appears in the recruiter list, then work backwards to what the interview and the written test will probe. We have covered the EPGP interview format and sample questions and the EPGP Written Ability Test in detail. For timing across programmes, see how the Round 2 deadlines for the one-year MBAs compare.
FAQ
What is the IIM Bangalore EPGP median salary?
IIMB's 2024-25 EPGP page shows a median of Rs 33.1 lakh and a mean of Rs 35.5 lakh per annum. For 2025-26, InsideIIM reports a median of Rs 36.50 lakh and an average of Rs 37.10 lakh, which we could not confirm against an IIMB page.
Should I look at the median or the average?
Use the median as your starting point, because a few very high offers pull the average up. Then adjust for your own function and prior pay.
Does the IIMB EPGP publish the highest package?
The 2024-25 EPGP page we checked does not state a highest CTC, batch size or total offers. Ask the programme office if those figures matter to your decision.
Is the salary figure fixed pay or total CTC?
The page we reviewed does not define CTC. Confirm with the school what it includes before comparing it with your current fixed pay.




Comments